Love story of a wave

It started when I saw her from a distance. Until then, my life consisted of my fellow waves and a few flirty fish. My brothers would say,’Get some fish,bro. You need some female company.’ I never took them seriously. There were days when I would flow in a pensive mood keeping no track of the moon overhead. Loneliness would engulf me from all sides. I would look as far as I could to find someone I could love. It was then I saw her- the shore. It was my first date with her. I could feel my heart beating faster and my flow slowing down as I drew near her. She did not move an inch towards me. May be it was disinterest on her part. For the sake of my sanity and existence, I continued to drive forth. As I came closer, I noticed that she was not running away. She was Switzerland as she would be forever. I put on my cloak of optimism and sprang forward.

At the point of contact, I decreased my intensity and spread my arms as far as I could. For a few moments, we enjoyed being at such close proximity. It was time to leave. My brothers pushed me back. I asked her to come with me. She could not. She said she would wait there forever. She would send some of her sand specks to give me company for a while. They would travel for sometime with me and describe my world to her later. I would think of her until our next date. As I grew older, I would have to wait longer. Neither she nor my love for her showed any signs of tear. Every time I meet her, I wish that I would get a chance to see her one more time.

One day I would die probably amid my brethren or hopefully in her arms. Until then, I would flow for miles to meet her or fall just short.

Leave a comment